Three Rules Of Small Business Computers: Backup, Backup, Backup

There’s a big chunk of Dance Among Elephants missing and that’s because I broke one of the cardinal rules of small business–or any business for that matter–I did not back up my data.

I have regular back ups of my projects and all their attendant materials. There is also a complete backup for my financial system. I even maintain a backup system for my personal photos and that big library of MP3s I ripped from my old CDs and vinyl records (Jimmy Hendrix and Patsy Cline just sound better taken from vinyl). But I never considered backing up the blog to be all that important, especially when it is hosted on line.

DUMB.

Stuff happens and this time it happened to me. Some glitch hit the blog and it was empty. I restored from my backup and then realized that I was kind of busy this summer and had not backed up since May. I keep rough copy in text as a way to quickly jot thoughts and save links for the blog, so I can slowly rebuild from those notes and probably have much better writing, but this is still a set-back and you should not have to suffer this.

So, lesson learned once again: back up everything. Now this includes material that does not even sit on my hard drives. Somewhere in that mess of blogging missing from earlier this summer is a post of two about the need to back up in multiple geographic locations, including online. I think I’ll rewrite that material as quickly as possible and take my lesson from there.

Enjoy the business day!

3 Comments

Filed under Business, Business Technology, Social Media

3 responses to “Three Rules Of Small Business Computers: Backup, Backup, Backup

  1. napanw

    another way to backup backup, backup it to gmail with backup to email (backup2e.com)

  2. Ann

    For all online backup, file sharing and storage related info, I recommend this website:

    http://www.BackupReview.info

  3. mikemathews

    Thanks for the excellent suggestion. This little problem has me convinced to write an update on additional solutions (Amazon’s S3, MobileMe, Windows Live, etc.) rather than just nag on backing up. I like the simplicity of backup2e and will see what else is available.

Leave a Reply

